To A Very Special Man

13450882_10208242508874292_1552506440900144767_n

Here is to a man that I run immediately to every time I get a problem. This is a man that I call immediately after receiving any good news. This is a man that can spend hours patiently listening to the talkative me blabbing about things that don’t even actually excite him. This is a man that taught me how to ride a bicycle and also taught me how to drive a car. This is a man that saw me in my struggling phase during my teenage years. This is a man who dealt patiently with the tantrums of my hormone-filled teenage self. This is a man who spent sleepless nights pushing me hard so that I can pass my A-Level Additional Maths. This is a man that console me every time he sees tears coming out of my eyes. This is a man that I run to for Fiqh questions growing up. This is a man that taught me Quran and in turn makes me fall in love with anything related to it, especially the recitation of it. This is a man that would fetch me and drive me anywhere for anything.

Ayah,
You revolutionised the definition of manhood. You don’t shy from cooking, doing the dishes, laundry and the many other so-called “feminine” chores. You even know how to sew for goodness’ sake that you even offered me if I wanna learn from you. (Sewing is like engineering to me 😐) You taught me that this world is limitless and constantly motivates me to pursue my passion and give my best in it. You taught me and the rest to have a compassion for other living beings by taking in a couple of stray kittens in the past. You and mak taught me and the rest the value of money by your awesome spending and saving fashion. (Well, they were both Accounting graduates you see 😏)

Ayah,
Thank you for all of your sacrifices, working so tirelessly in order to give us a better life than what you used to have.
Thank you for your over-protectiveness that I usually fail to appreciate its benefits.
Thank you for being an advisor to me on money, religion, health, relationships and LOVE.
Thank you for your awesome genes that I inherited from you such as your adventurous nature when it comes to foods (we both eat everything and are not scared to try anything 😎), your fondness for other cultures and languages, your love for cats, passion for Quranic recitations and our strange nerd habit of watching documentaries among many others😂

People that have known you would often be charmed by your gentleness and soft-spoken way of talking. You are also ever so helpful of anyone for anything reminding us that it will inshaAllah get paid by Allah. If Mak taught us the values of perseverance and patience, you taught us how to be gentle and compassionate.

Again, thank you ayah for teaching me that tiaras don’t make you a princess. Its your values and principles that do.

‪#‎EverydayIsAFathersDay‬

This post is taken from a previous Facebook post dated June 20th, 2016.

Leave a Reply

